Thoughts: Compete Hard!

Hey Kiddo,

How you holding up? Feeling tired? Then sit back and relax. Take time off to smell the damn flowers. By the age you get this one I’m sure my life would be slower than yours. After all I would be the case of a “been there, done that and got the t-shirt” and if I haven’t I just hope I don’t regret not doing the things I didn’t get a chance to do.

I can completely sense you wondering what pearl of wisdom (or pain in the butt gyaan, depending as to how you have grown up) am I showering on you this time. J

Well this one is easy: Play hard and play to win… compete hard and fight for what you want. Life ain’t going to give you things on a platter, I so wish it was like that though.

Go on, give it all and compete, because competing at the highest level is the best test of one’s character and if you don’t give your 150%, be sure as heck your competition will. Never be afraid of trying to reach out and grab what you want, for I don’t think opportunity knocks on anyone’s door, I think it just walks on the street and the first one to open their door is where it would go.

Going the extra yard always has its drawbacks, a potential pitfall being ‘getting it wrong’, making a mistake. You are likely to make a lot of mistakes, more often than you would like to realize, but I’m here to let you know that…”that is ok!” For if you’re not making mistakes, you’re not taking risks, and that means you’re not going anywhere. The ability to run faster than your competitors is the only sustainable competitive advantage you have. (Learnt this one in college!) And thus I say that the key is to make your mistakes faster than the rest, so you have more changes to learn and win.

Just to complete the thought, you have only one person to compete with, and that dear child, is yourself! Compete with the ideal that you set for yourself, it would serve you well. Don’t worry about the rest of the world; they worry about themselves all the time anyway. The elite in the world only compete with the standards they set for themselves.

In the end the principle behind competing against yourself is about self-improvement, about being better than you were the day before.

 

“You are all Champions in your own way. That doesn’t mean you have to be number 1 or be the best. Just do your best. If you aren’t first, then make those people ahead of you break records by pushing them with your personal best.”

–          Unknown, Olympic quote

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. agreed. getting things wrong is better than not trying at all… Not Kipling’s ‘If’ but definitely something u could let a kid know…

    u could soon start a how i met ur mother if u want a cooler series 😛

    I doubt I would be able to write this for my kid… but will direct him here 🙂

    Reply

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by ShivaniRamaiah, Prateek Singh. Prateek Singh said: Blog Update Thoughts: Compete Hard! http://tinyurl.com/46s8ybm […]

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kunal Sharma on January 28, 2011 at 10:40 PM

    A few pep talks on similar lines would have ensured lot of trophies for Master House, Sir!!!! But on a serious note, Brilliant work… Enjoyed reading and it left me supercharged with Motivation….

    Reply

  4. Posted by Divya Kurup on February 1, 2011 at 10:33 AM

    I liked the spirit …… Nice…

    I hope many people get this and stop thinking about what other people think or do and do what makes them happy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

