Thoughts: Be Perfect

Dear son/daughter

Be Perfect!

All I can offer you as advice is this…..Be Perfect.

For some rationale I feel that this should reach you when you are of my age. Cause I feel that somewhere along the rat race which is the bane of my existence, I would have lost myself and somehow I would not recall what sort of person I was once.

I guess this letter is more for me, to remind myself how I am and a reason to talk to you as an equal in age.

At your age, I was a pain, I was stubborn, obnoxiously rude at times, funny (strongest point), was built much better than I probably look like now and I was tired. Tired of all the things I wanted to do and tired of thinking about all the things I thought I should, could and would do in life.

I feel that you might be stuck in a similar rut at some point in time in your life. Figuring out what you are doing now, figuring out what you want to do, and believing that you are not all you wanted to be. For that I say, the human life is not a calculator. Two and two might not always make four, it could be five, it could also be three and at times the whole blackboard might topple down in the middle of the sum leaving the class in disorder and the pedagogue suffering with a concussion. And all you would have learnt is nothing.

So kiddo….Be Perfect!

It’s a moving target but it’s the achievement of a lifetime. Do whatever you want to, but make sure you love it and make sure it sustains you. Don’t forget, life ain’t a sprint (clichéd I know) it’s a marathon.  Sometimes you are ahead; sometimes you are behind, but the race? It’s a heck of a lot longer than you probably thought it would be and in the end, if you survive with your head held high…you win! Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away. Action is the highest perfection and drawing forth of the utmost power, vigor, and activity of man’s nature. Aim at perfection in everything, though in most things it is unattainable. However, they who aim at it, and persevere, will come much nearer to it than those whose laziness and despondency make them give it up as unattainable.

Be perfect kiddo… And no! Don’t think of this as me trying to drive you up the wall with my expectations, but its more for you to realize your potential, whatever you chose to do and however well you do it. I shall always be proud, for you shall always be perfect for me.

One minute was enough, Tyler said, a person had to work hard for it, but a minute of perfection was worth the effort.  A moment was the most you could ever expect from perfection.

~Chuck Palahniuk, Fight Club

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Upasna on September 2, 2010 at 8:17 PM

    This one’s my favorite out of all your blogs… 🙂

    Reply

  2. Thankie. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I don’t know if I would ever write to my child, but somewhere would leave behind this link for him/her…

    Reply

  4. Posted by Yuvika on September 2, 2010 at 9:09 PM

    Touches a chord that most people don’t remember they have :’) simple n succinct.. exactly what the doctor ordered!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Satyam on September 10, 2010 at 2:00 AM

    The pursuit of perfection…….an admirable goal……perhaps within the realm of possibility for a child yet unborn. Indeed, a thought provoking post…..I wonder what the child will feel when he/she reads it in an era marked by the obsolescence of weakness and the ubiquity of power. Lovely stuff……this guy never ceases to surprise me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

