PERSONALITY

If you have anything really valuable to contribute to the world it will come through the expression of your own personality, that single spark of divinity that sets you off and makes you different from every other living creature. A personality is what sets you apart from the rest of the clan.  Some great person once said that nothing in this world is permanent but change; it’s a part of life, a part of society, a part of why every person in this world is an individual.

I personally believe that my personality has been shaped wholly by the experiences I have been through in my past 22 years. Whether it be from my shy, docile, withdrawn, reserved self during my first few years from kindergarten to primary school to my later developed outgoing, friendly and sociable attitude which I have inculcated in myself over the years.

My personality has been shaped by the innumerable incidents that have occurred in my life. Each event has shaped me in a way I may not be aware of yet. It’s called The Butterfly Effect, which states that even the flutter of a butterfly’s wings over the Ocean can cause a typhoon in some distant land. Every happening in my 22 years has changed some part of me and some part of my future. Personality is not constant, it changes as time passes. Circumstances lead to a change of outlook, a change of position, a change of stance, which in turn would lead to a change of personality.

However I view things today, will change after a couple of years. If asked about my personality I will have nothing definitive to say, for the personality is what defines a person and it is the hardest thing to be able to define yourself and what I say today at 0420 on the 24th of August will not hold true 5 years (or maybe even 5 minutes) from now!  Personality has no definition, no answers and more importantly will differ with people’s perceptions, it will differ with time and it will differ with the choices we make.

It’s said that man’s main task in life is to give birth to himself, to become what he potentially is and the most important product of his effort is his own personality

Leave a Reply

