Motivation

I believe that there are basically two kinds of people in this world, those who want it and those who want it more, and more often than not the ones who want it more get it more frequently. This is motivation. When you know what you want, and you want it badly enough, you’ll find a way to get it, infact the whole world actually conspires to help you with it too. Motivation is nothing more than a desire and a desire is the starting point of all achievement, not a hope, not a wish, but a keen pulsating desire which transcends everything.

Motivation is what drives a person but then motivation alone is not enough, if you have an idiot and you motivate him, you end up with a motivated idiot. Motivation requires direction, a path, a course, a trail to lead you to the right direction.

Humans have the remarkable ability to get exactly what they must have. But there is a difference between a “must” and “want.” Once people are able to discriminate between what they must and should have, motivation is all taken care of.

Motivation is what makes us all tick; it is what makes us go ahead with the work. I deem myself to be centred around the moment, I live for it, its what makes me look forward to the rest of the day, its what makes me get out of bed, its what keeps me up all night to watch a football match.

I get motivated by a whole horde of things, be it materialistic or emotional. Fun, friends and life are high on my priority list. Personally, to be able to sit and look back at my handiwork with ease is one of the biggest motivating factors. It’s what drives me to get the work done. Onboard the ship it was what made me get down to the engine room day in and day out. To wake up at an unreasonable hour, don overalls and work in 40 C and at times stay awake for weeks on end takes a lot of effort and a burning desire to perform.

As the great Mohammed Ali said, “To be a great champion you must believe you are the best. If you’re not, pretend you are.”

Demotivation is a state where you start to believe that when your best is just not good enough. You try and try hard to stay clear of such a state, but then we’re all only human and our heart affects our mind, which in turn will affect our conduct. We just need to remember that we all get demotivated at times.

There are always a hug number of demotivating factors in one’s life. It is upto the individual to stay unambiguous of them. There are varying instances I get demotivated, it could be if Manchester United do not win, if I don’t perform upto my expectations or if I don’t perform upto some else’s expectations. At times like these all I can do is end up visualising what I did wrong (or maybe what Man Utd. did wrong) and hope for the best the next time. We need to grasp the actuality that no amount of anger, tears or depression can make things good again and thus we just need to stay clear of stress inducing circumstances.

Leave a Reply

